Endling: The Last (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Endling: The Last Cover Image
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews

From the first page, Katherine Applegate’s eloquent writing stirs up the excitement of adventure to come. In the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra, animals live in an uneasy alliance with humans. After her pack is murdered by poachers, Byx is thought to be the last remaining dairnes, a dog-like species that glides like a bird, speaks, and is perceptive enough to tell the truth from a lie. She sets out on a journey to the icy cold north, holding tight to the rumor of an island hideout inhabited by others of her kind. Along the way, she learns just how treacherous humans can be in their quest for power over all other species, but she also creates alliances with a giant cat, a small and fiercely loyal wobbyk, a sword-wielding girl disguised as a boy, and an unexpectedly honest thief. Together they form an odd sort of family in their dangerous world. Full of sword fights, magic, and narrow escapes, Endling is a thrilling read, and Middle Grade readers are certain to be captivated by the world-building, the humorous dialogue, and most of all, by the remarkably drawn characters. 

— Jenny Chou


First Katherine Applegate thrilled readers with the action-packed Animorphs series. Then she stole our hearts with the award-winning The One and Only Ivan. Now she takes us on an unforgettable journey in this first book of an epic middle grade series

Byx is the youngest member of her dairne pack. Believed to possess remarkable abilities, her mythical doglike species has been hunted to near extinction in the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra.

After her pack is hunted down and killed, Byx fears she may be the last of her species. The Endling. So Byx sets out to find safe haven, and to see if the legends of other hidden dairnes are true.

Along the way, she meets new allies--both animals and humans alike--who each have their own motivations for joining her quest. And although they begin as strangers, they become their own kind of family--one that will ultimately uncover a secret that may threaten every creature in their world.

Building upon the success of her critically acclaimed novels such as The One and Only Ivan, Crenshaw, and Wishtree, while also returning to her action-packed fantasy roots of Animorphs, the Endling series is Katherine Applegate at her finest. With its enthralling characters, unique setting, and gripping adventure, this series is the perfect next read for fans of Rick Riordan, Brian Jacques, and Tui T. Sutherland.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062335524
ISBN-10: 0062335529
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 1st, 2018
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Endling