Appleblossom the Possum (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Appleblossom the Possum Cover Image
By Holly Goldberg Sloan, Gary Rosen (Illustrator)
$8.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 11 11:45am
(JUVENILE INTERMEDIATE AG)

Staff Reviews


"What a dilemma! Appleblossom the possum has been well trained by her Mama to stay away from possum enemies, like humans and dogs. Now the unthinkable has happened, and she is in a home with humans and a dog! Two of Appleblossom's brothers are on a quest to save her--or can she save herself? Told in a charming conversational style (great to read out loud), this book celebrates the special bond between siblings. Filled with humor, theatrical happenings and perfect expressive illustrations, this book is super special!" --Barbara

— From Barbara's Staff Recommendations

Description


Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of New York Times Bestseller Counting by 7s

Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now it's time for all of them--even little Appleblossom--to make their way in the world. Appleblossom knows the rules: she must never be seen during the day, and she must avoid cars, humans, and the dreaded hairies (sometimes known as dogs). Even so, Appleblossom decides to spy on a human family--and accidentally falls down their chimney The curious Appleblossom, her faithful brothers--who launch a hilarious rescue mission--and even the little girl in the house have no idea how fascinating the big world can be. But they're about to find out

With dynamic illustrations, a tight-knit family, and a glimpse at the world from a charming little marsupial's point of view, this cozy animal story is a perfect read-aloud and a classic in the making.

About the Author


Holly Goldberg Sloan was born in Ann Arbor, Michigan and spent her childhood living in Holland, Istanbul, Turkey, Washington DC, Berkeley, California and Eugene, Oregon. After graduating from Wellesley College and spending some time as an advertising copywriter, she began writing and directing family feature films, including Angels in the Outfield and Made in America. Counting by 7s, her first middle-grade novel, was a New York Times Bestseller. The mother of two sons, Holly lives with her husband, who is the illustrator of this book, in Santa Monica, California.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780147512802
ISBN-10: 0147512808
Publisher: Puffin Books
Publication Date: August 2nd, 2016
Pages: 288
Language: English