Life on Mars (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Life on Mars Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Dec 11 11:45am
(JUVENILE HARDC. PICTURE)

Staff Reviews


Readers will laugh out loud as they follow a young boy astronaut's adventures on Mars. While he is looking for life on Mars, readers will see what he doesn't - a huge creature is following him! Visual jokes are on each page, as the creature's expressions are the same as the astronaut's. Gentle sly humor throughout the book extends to the last page, when the astronaut, and readers, get a big surprise! This captivating book is sure to become a favorite!

— Barbara Katz

Description


In this sneaky, silly picture book for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, an intrepid--but not so clever--space explorer is certain he's found the only living thing on Mars

A young astronaut is absolutely sure there is life to be found on Mars. He sets off on a solitary mission, determined to prove the naysayers wrong. But when he arrives, equipped with a package of cupcakes as a gift, he sees nothing but a nearly barren planet. Finally, he spies a single flower and packs it away to take back to Earth as proof that there is indeed life on Mars. But as he settles in for the journey home, he cracks open his cupcakes--only to discover that someone has eaten them all

Readers will love being in on the secret: Unbeknownst to the explorer, a Martian has been wandering through the illustrations the whole time--and he got himself a delicious snack along the way.

About the Author


Jon Agee is the beloved author and illustrator of many acclaimed picture books, including Terrific (a New York Times Best Illustrated Book), Milo's Hat Trick (an ALA Notable Book), Little Santa (an ALA Notable Book and recipient of five starred reviews), and It's Only Stanley (a Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor Book). He lives in San Francisco, California.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399538520
ISBN-10: 0399538526
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: February 28th, 2017
Pages: 32
Language: English