Caraval (Hardcover)

Caraval Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Dec 13 9:01am
(TEEN)

Description


The Instant New York Times bestseller from Stephanie Garber #1 IndieNext Pick Entertainment Weekly Must List

Whatever you've heard about Caraval, it doesn't compare to the reality. It's more than just a game or a performance. It's the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

"The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-." --Entertainment Weekly
"Impressive, original, wondrous." --USA Today
"Spellbinding." --US Weekly
"Magnificent." --Publishers Weekly, starred review
"I lost myself in this world." --Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
"Beautifully written." --Renee Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
"Shimmers with magic." --Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner's Curse
"Darkly enchanting." --Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
"Decadent." --Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen
"Like stepping into a living dream." --Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
"Destined to capture imaginations." --Kirkus Reviews
"Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games." --School Library Journal

About the Author


Stephanie Garber loves Disneyland because it s the one place on earth where she feels as if the fantastical stories she loves to write about could actually come to life. When she's not writing young adult fantasy, she teaches creative writing at a private college in northern California, where she s known for turning assignments into games and taking students on field trips that involve book signings. Caraval is her first novel for young adults. She would love to hear from you on social media."
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250095251
ISBN-10: 1250095255
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: January 31st, 2017
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Caraval