Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration (Paperback)

Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration Cover Image
By Christina Ward, Nancy Singleton Hachisu (Introduction by)
$24.95
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Aug 22 1:03am
(PRESERVE-CAN-FREEZE-DRY-)

Description


More than a cookbook, Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration demystifies the scientific concepts that inform the methods of food preservation in an easy to understand way. Taking Julia Child as her inspiration, certified Master Food Preserver Christina Ward has collected and translated both the scientific and experiential information that has long been the sole domain of academic scientists and elite chefs.

Fueled by her mission to correct online misinformation and scientifically outdated materials, Ward guides readers through a comprehensive survey of the methods that will ensure your preservation projects are safe and delicious. Included are highly adaptable recipes that demonstrate every method and technique of preservation.

Forward by Nancy Singleton Hachisu, an expert in Japanese food traditions. Her second book, Preserving the Japanese Way, was nominated for the 2016 James Beard Award in the International Cookbook category. For fans of Alton Brown, Kenji Alt-Lopez, and Harold McGee, Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration is the guide you never knew you needed. You'll never look at a jar of strawberry jam the same way.

Chapters include information on freezing, pressure canning, hot-water bath and atmospheric canning, dehydration, fermentation, smoking, and curing. Also included are a detailed source guide and recommendations.

Christina Ward teaches notoriously raucous preservation classes and serves as a volunteer mentor to urban farmers, small-scale food producers, and question answerer for people all over the country trying to save their pickles from disaster. Her love of teaching is evident on every page as complicated scientific concepts are simplified and explained with precision and humor.


About the Author


Christina Ward is a Wisconsin native and Master Food Preserver for Milwaukee County. Through her popular food preservation classes, she has taught thousands of people to safely can, dehydrate, and ferment. She credits the punk rock/DIY scene for instilling a sense of community of sharing. Through her food preservation and teaching work, she has fostered and assisted dozens of micro-food businesses and non-profit urban agriculture organizations. She writes about food history and preservation for numerous publications, including: Edible Magazine, Remedy Quarterly, The Runcible Spoon, The Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel, and more. Foreward by Nancy Singleton Hachisu, an expert in Japanese food traditions. Her second book, Preserving the Japanese Way, was nominated for the 2016 James Beard Award in the International Cookbook category.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781934170694
ISBN-10: 1934170690
Publisher: Process
Publication Date: June 20th, 2017
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Process Self-Reliance