The Woman in the Window: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Woman in the Window: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jul 19 12:45am
(FICTION THRILLER)

Description


The #1 Instant New York Times Bestseller – Soon to be a Major Motion Picture

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

   

Praise For…


The Woman in the Window is one of those rare books that really is unputdownable. The writing is smooth and often remarkable. The way Finn plays off this totally original story against a background of film noir is both delightful and chilling.”

The Woman in the Window is a tour de force. A twisting, twisted odyssey inside one woman’s mind, her illusions, delusions, reality. It left my own mind reeling and my heart pounding. An absolutely gripping thriller.”

“The rocket fuel propelling The Woman in the Window, the first stratosphere-ready mystery of 2018, is expertise. . . . Dear other books with unreliable narrators: This one will see you and raise you.”

“As the plot seizes us, the prose caresses us. . . [Finn] has not only captured, sympathetically, the interior life of a depressed person, but also written a riveting thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last sentence.”

“Astounding. Thrilling. Lovely and amazing....Finn has created a noir for the new millennium, packed with mesmerizing characters, stunning twists, beautiful writing and a narrator with whom I’d love to split a bottle of pinot. Maybe two bottles—I’ve got a lot of questions for her.”

“Twisted to the power of max. Hitchcockian suspense with a 21st century twist.”

Compelling, wrenching, and gasp-for-breath exciting―I was blown away.”

A dark, twisty confection with an irresistible film noir premise. Hitchcock would have snapped up the rights in a heartbeat.”

The Woman in the Window is the most riveting thriller I’ve read since Gone Girl. A. J. Finn is a bold new talent with the touch of a master.”

“Finn’s debut lives up to the hype. . . . A riveting and mature first novel that stands out in a crowded genre.”

“Gripping, compelling, and utterly intriguing.”

The Woman in the Window reads like a classic Hitchcock movie in novel form, in fact I was half expecting a cameo. Dripping with suspense. Creaking with menace. Beautifully written. There’s a lot of buzz around this book and every single bit of it is totally justified.”

“This is a wonderfully dark, elegant thriller, evocative of Hitchcock and classic noir. Tense, twisty and so beautifully written. . . . An absolute one-sitting read.”

Crackling with tension, and the sound of pages turning, as twist after twist sweeps away each hypothesis you come up with about what happened in Anna’s past and what fresh hell is unfolding now.”

[A] gripping first novel . . . genuinely surprising twists. . . . [R]eaders will eagerly turn the pages to see how it all turns out.”

“Full of suspense and surprises and told with heart, The Woman in the Window will send readers racing through its pages. A stunning first outing from A. J. Finn, a tremendous new talent.”

“The plot is very nearly airtight. . . . Finn never loses touch with the fear and insecurity of a woman who has suffered a great loss and feels alone in the world. . . . it’s not a book that you can easily put down.”

 “[T]here’s something irresistible about this made-for-the-movies tingler. Finn knows how to pleasurably wind us up.”

“This is thriller writing of a new order.”

“[A] thrilling debut novel.”

“[I]nhalable . . . highly enjoyable.”


Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062678416
ISBN-10: 0062678418
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2018
Pages: 448
Language: English