New Kid: A Newbery Award Winner (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
New Kid: A Newbery Award Winner By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 24 1:10am
(JUVENILE GRAPHIC/COMICS)

Staff Reviews


New Kid is the first graphic novel ever to win the Newbery Award for best children's book of the year, and it's a heartfelt pleasure to read. Seventh grader Jordan Banks wants to go to art school, but mom says he's smart and needs the real world experience of Riverdale Academy Day School, where most of the kids are white and wealthy and won't understand his neighborhood. One of the teachers even mixes up the names of the few black kids in his grade, and she doesn't have it straight by the end of the year! Still, Jordan is making friends, he's sincerely confronting the people who slight him, and he's learning that anyone can make judgments that turn out to be wrong, even him. He's got an art teacher who's pushing his talents, too, so maybe all the struggle will be worth it. This graphic novel has a lot of great qualities - a lovable, artistic main character who shows us drawings from his own sketchbook, a collection of other characters with depth and charm, and plenty of humor mixed in with the wisdom. I expect, and hope, that we'll see more of Jordan Banks again soon! 

— Tim McCarthy

Description


Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature! 

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. 

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

This middle grade graphic novel is an excellent choice for tween readers, including for summer reading.

New Kid is a selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act!

About the Author


Jerry Craft is the author-illustrator of #1 New York Times bestselling graphic novels New Kid and its companion book, Class Act. New Kid was the first book in history to win the Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature. In his latest book, School Trip, Jerry hopes to share his love of travel in order to inspire kids and their families to see the world and embrace new cultures. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and now lives in Florida. 



Jerry Craft is the author-illustrator of #1 New York Times bestselling graphic novels New Kid and its companion book, Class Act. New Kid was the first book in history to win the Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature. In his latest book, School Trip, Jerry hopes to share his love of travel in order to inspire kids and their families to see the world and embrace new cultures. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and now lives in Florida. 

Praise For…


“Funny, sharp, and totally real! Jordan Banks is the kid everyone will be talking about!” — Jeff Kinney, Author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

★“Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.” — Booklist (starred review)

★“An engrossing, humorous, and vitally important graphic novel that should be required reading in every middle school in America.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★“This is more than a story about being the new kid—it’s a complex examination of the micro- and macroaggressions that Jordan endures from classmates and teachers. Highly recommended for all middle grade shelves.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

★“This engaging story offers an authentic secondary cast and captures the high jinks of middle schoolers and the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

★ “Award-winning author/illustrator Jerry Craft confronts elitism, microaggression, racism, socioeconomic disparity and white privilege in a familiar setting. His preteen audiences will undoubtedly recognize and empathize with Craft’s memorable cast.” — Shelf Awareness, (starred review)

“Craft’s full-color comics art is dynamic and expressive. This school story stands out as a robust, contemporary depiction of a preteen navigating sometimes hostile spaces yet staying true to himself thanks to friends, family, and art.” — Horn Book Magazine

New Kid is at once tender and tough, funny and heartbreaking. Hand this to the middle-grade reader in your life right away.” — The New York Times Book Review

"This story captures the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space." — Publishers Weekly

“Genuine characters propel this funny, warm, biting, fearless story. Entertaining and insightful, it will surely offer affirmation for some readers, revelation for others.” — Cooperative Children’s Book Center

“An honest and compelling read for any kid looking for a place to belong.” — Scholastic Teacher Magazine

“This beautifully crafted work captures ‘tween angst, recognizes everyday and systemic injustice, and challenges everyone to do better by every kid." — The San Francisco Chronicle



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062691194
ISBN-10: 0062691198
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: February 5th, 2019
Pages: 256
Language: English