This Again? (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
This Again? By Adam Borba Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of May 21 12:56am
(JUVENILE INTERMEDIATE AG)

Staff Reviews


If your middle school self traveled in time just to tell you how to turn the worst day of your life into the best day of your life, would you take their advice? Noah is trying to win class president, just like his older brother did, and he’s torn between his best friends and their favorite sport, bowling (uncool), and new friendships with the super-cool basketball players. And can he pass pre-algebra without actually putting in any work? When his future self shows up, Future Noah is full of ideas for getting their life on track, but in the end, who is the real Noah? THIS AGAIN is LOL funny but also a great reflection on being a good friend and doing what makes you happy rather than trying to meet what you think are other people’s expectations. A great lesson for middle grade readers and grownups.

— Jenny Chou

Description


How far would you go to have the best day of your life? This funny and thrilling time travel adventure tackles questions of fate and free will. 
 
Noah Nicholson has plenty to be grateful for. He has solid grades and great friends, he’s finally becoming closer with Lucy Martinez—his crush since second grade—and he just might have a chance to be elected class president next week. But despite all that, Noah fixates on the should’ve-beens and could’ve-beens and the belief that he can make his life perfect. Then Noah comes upon an opportunity to do just that.
 
At the local bowling alley, Noah runs into someone most unexpected: himself. The look-alike is him from nine days in the future, and he insists that if Noah does every ridiculous thing he says—from quacking like a duck in science class to painting himself green—they can achieve their dream of perfection. However, fate may have other plans, and Future Noah may not be entirely honest about what he’s doing there.…

Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Louis Sachar, This Again? takes readers on an incredible journey through time, mind, and middle school. 

About the Author


Adam Borba is a writer and filmmaker from California who has developed and produced movies for Walt Disney Studios. He is the author of the middle grade novels The Midnight Brigade, Outside Nowhere, and This Again.

Praise For…


"A charming new middle grade speculative fiction... both nostalgic and fresh. Its hopeful exuberance in the face of junior high angst is reminiscent of Judy Blume, its quirky high jinks evoke the works of Louis Sachar."—School Library Journal

A Back to the Future kind of story for middle grade readers that's funny, clever, and full of heart!—Courtney Sheinmel, author of The Kindness Club and My Pet Slime series

A time bending instant classic that will appeal to past, present, and future versions of every reader.—David Soren, director of Captain Underpants: the First Epic Movie and writer/director of Turbo

This ultra-clever adventure is perfectly in sync with both middle-school reality and middle-school fantasy. A charming story of real-life troubles careening down a time-travel bowling lane. Highly recommended!—Trenton Lee Stewart, author of the award-winning and New York Times bestselling The Mysterious Benedict Society series and The Secret Keepers

Adam Borba’s combined his funny, sympathetic tale of middle school pressures – the mysteries of first loves, popularity, and higher math – with a twisty time travel tale that reveals the perils of perfectionism and the value of family and true friends.  I’d pull for main character Noah Nicholson in any timeline, any day.  But I’d never let him do my laundry.—Sheila Turnage, author of Newbery Honor Book Three Times Lucky

A smart and hilarious time-loop romp—Noah for the win!—Sarah Mlynowski, New York Times bestselling author of the Best Wishes and Whatever After series

"[A] whip-smart comedy."—Publisher's Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316553186
ISBN-10: 0316553182
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 16th, 2024
Pages: 272
Language: English