All the Bright Places (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
All the Bright Places Cover Image
$10.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Sep 16 1:18am
(TEEN)

Staff Reviews


"Meeting at the top of a belltower while contemplating death seems like strange start to a love story, but for Violet Markey and Theodore Finch, it's destiny. Violet is struggling to cope with the death of her sister and Finch is struggling with his own demons in the form of bipolar disorder. Violet's world opens up anew when Finch comes into her life. But Finch knows it's only a matter of time until he's "asleep" again and even moments with Violet won't help him feel alive. As they traipse all over Indiana for a school project, they find bright places in the landmarks all around them and fall in love. However, life and Finch's illness will catch up to them eventually, and then things will never be the same again. Jennifer Niven portrays what it's like to experience a devastating loss and what it's like to have and be friends with someone with bipolar disorder with honesty and complete accuracy. She tells a truly amazing story that explores rather than ignores life's worst and darkest moments and that celebrates life's best and brightest moments. I loved this book so much! It made me laugh, cry, and fall in love with the characters, especially Theodore Finch. At once both heartbreaking and uplifting, All the Bright Places, and Violet and Finch, will stay with you long after you have finished this beautiful and breathtaking book!"

— Phoebe Dyer

Description


NOW A NETFLIX FILM, STARRING ELLE FANNING AND JUSTICE SMITH!

The New York Times bestselling love story about two teens who find each other while standing on the edge. And don’t miss Take Me with You When You Go, Jennifer Niven’s highly anticipated new book with bestselling author David Levithan!


Theodore Finch
is fascinated by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might kill himself, but every day he also searches for—and manages to find—something to keep him here, and alive, and awake.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school—six stories above the ground— it’s unclear who saves whom. Soon it’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. . . .
 
“A do-not-miss for fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe.” —Justine Magazine
 
“At the heart—a big one—of All the Bright Places lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers.” —The New York Times Book Review

“A heart-rending, stylish love story.” —The Wall Street Journal

“A complex love story that will bring all the feels.” —Seventeen Magazine

Impressively layered, lived-in, and real.” —Buzzfeed

About the Author


Jennifer Niven is the author of the New York Times and international bestseller All the Bright Places, as well as her new YA novel, Holding Up the Universe. She has also written four novels for adults—American Blonde, Becoming Clementine, Velva Jean Learns to Fly, and Velva Jean Learns to Drive—as well as three nonfiction books: The Ice Master, Ada Blackjack, and The Aqua Net Diaries, a memoir about her high school experiences. She grew up in Indiana and now lives with her fiancé and literary cats in Los Angeles. For more information, visit JenniferNiven.com, GermMagazine.com, or find her on Facebook or Twitter.

Praise For…


“…this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters – or her audience.”
Entertainment Weekly 

“Many teen novels touch on similar themes, but few do it so memorably.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review  

"In her YA debut, adult author Niven creates a romance so fresh and funny. . . The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities—and limits—of love in the face of mental illness.”
—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The writing in this heartrending novel is fluid, despite the difficult topics… Finch in particular will linger in readers’ minds long after the last page is turned.”
—School Library Journal, starred review

"Ultimately, the book, with narration that alternates between Finch and Violet, becomes Violet’s story of survival and recovery, affirming the value of loving deeply, grieving openly, and carrying your light forward."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books 

“Have The Fault in Our Stars withdrawal? Pick up this heartrending novel about a girl who vows to live with purpose after bonding with a boy who plans to end his own life.” 
 SELF Magazine

"It’s touching, vibrant, and an impressively honest depiction of depression."
 — BuzzFeed

Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

Miami Herald Best Books for Children

GoodReads Choice Awards Young Adult Fiction Category Winner

TIME Top Young Adult Book of the Year

A NPR Guide to Great Reads Book
Product Details
ISBN: 9780385755917
ISBN-10: 0385755910
Publisher: Ember
Publication Date: September 13th, 2016
Pages: 416
Language: English