One's Company: A Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
One's Company: A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of Jun 29 12:03am
(GENERAL FICTION TRADE PB)

Staff Reviews


Ashley Hutson's absurd debut novel is a revelation. Bonnie wins the lottery, and not just a little win - think the biggest win you can remember, then triple it. She suffered some major trauma which has blended into the background of her life. Upon winning the lottery, she buys a remote piece of land and builds a replica of her dream sitcom show, Three's Company. Bonnie wants to disappear so completely into the sitcom, and she has every little detail replicated that she possible can. From the decor to the TV shows, Bonnie spares no expense for historical accuracy. This book is a deep dive into a person's mental illness brought on by life's many dangers and her attempt to escape from them.  

— Jason Kennedy

Description


One of BuzzFeed's Must-Read Summer Books



For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh and Mona Awad, this fearless debut chronicles one woman’s escape into a world of obsessive imagination.


Bonnie Lincoln just wants to be left alone. To come home from work, shut out the ghosts of some devastating losses, and unwind in front of the nostalgic, golden glow of her favorite TV show, Three’s Company.


When Bonnie wins the lottery, a more grandiose vision—to completely shuck off her own troublesome identity—takes shape. She plans a drastic move to an isolated mountain retreat where she can re-create the iconic apartment set of Three’s Company and slip into the lives of its main characters: no-nonsense Janet Wood, pleasantly airheaded Chrissy Snow, and confident Jack Tripper. While her best friend, Krystal, tries to drag her back to her old life, Bonnie is determined to transcend pain, trauma, and the baggage of her past by immersing herself in the ultimate binge-watch.



About the Author


Ashley Hutson is a writer living in rural Maryland. Her work has appeared in Granta, Electric Literature, Catapult, Fanzine, and elsewhere. Her honors include the 2018 Small Fictions Award, judged by Aimee Bender, and several Pushcart Prize nominations.

Praise For…


This novel hooked me from the very first line... Hutson’s prose is both simple and captivating, containing nuggets of wisdom that peek into the complexity of humanity.
— Farrah Penn - Buzzfeed

[An] affecting and ingenious debut... This darkly clever work dramatizes the necessity and fragility of illusions, showing how they can crumble when broadcast to the world. Hutson is off to a brilliant start.
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

[Ashley] Hutson is far too smart...to turn Bonnie into an easy case study on the effects of trauma...Hutson’s prose, too, is as cleareyed and convincing as the novel’s premise is farcical...Looks at trauma, wealth, and infatuation through a startlingly original lens.
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

[An] engaging debut… There's much to appreciate in Hutson's deft exploration of the toll trauma takes as well as both the lure and dangers of disappearing into a fantasy world.
— Booklist

This book is such a savvy, deadpan, moving meditation-unto-absurdity on obsession and trauma and throwaway television and the ways that our hobbies can hurt us and heal us and sometimes overwhelm us. I absolutely loved it.
— Amber Sparks, author of And I Do Not Forgive You

Like some uncanny hybrid of Tom McCarthy, Ottessa Moshfegh, and Mulholland Drive, Ashley Hutson’s high concept black comedy, One’s Company, packs deranged laughs against deep trauma in a no-holds-barred debut. Surreal, ambitious, and page-turning, the painful memory performance of Bonnie Lincoln’s wish to live forever in a sitcom might be more realistic than the realism we think we know.

— Blake Butler, author of Alice Knott

Ashley Hutson’s novel fearlessly takes on trauma, loneliness, madness, and desire in wholly unexpected ways. The dazzling imagination of the novel’s formidable protagonist, Bonnie Lincoln, is rivaled only by that of her brilliant creator: One’s Company is a totally original, bitterly funny, and emotionally complex tale about the power of fantasy to both save and destroy the things we cherish.

— Maryse Meijer, author of The Seventh Mansion
Product Details
ISBN: 9780393866643
ISBN-10: 0393866645
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: June 14th, 2022
Pages: 272
Language: English