If You Had a Jetpack (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
If You Had a Jetpack Cover Image
By Lisl H. Detlefsen, Linzie Hunter (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Oct 15 2:30am
(JUVENILE HARDC. PICTURE)

Staff Reviews


What adventures two little animals have when they build jetpacks to fly around! Helping their principal, visiting Nana, playing Turbo Tag – the possibilities are endless. I like how both the conditional tense of the story and the emphasizing of adverbs play with the adorable illustrations (you’ve seen them on puzzles, stickers, and greeting cards) to give the story a sense of possibility. Both the text and the pictures have lots of funny asides to keep readers young and old occupied, and I can’t imagine a group of kids reading this story not having their own ideas about what they’d do with a jetpack.

— Daniel Goldin

Spring 2018 Kids’ Indie Next List


“Blast off with a bunny and his brother as they explore all the things you could do if you only had a jetpack. Each page is loaded with adorable, vibrant illustrations that will keep you giggling from one to the next. Two bunnies, one jetpack, and endless possibilities.”
— Kidron Mariotti, Octavia Books, LLC, New Orleans, LA

Description


A fun and creative answer to the question "what would YOU do if you had a jetpack?" perfect for fans of Boy and Bot and How to Train a Train.

Having a jetpack is fun--if you know what to do with one.

If you had a jetpack, you could:
  •  Teach your brother how to build one too.
  •  Demonstrate its usefulness at Show and Share Time at school.
  •  Give your principal a ride home.
  •  Fly south to visit your nana.
  •  Visit the astronauts on the space station and help with anything that needed fixing.
Join one inventive little rabbit as he and his brother put their new jetpack to good use!


"An energetic, crowd-pleasing read-aloud that can be revisited again and again."--SLJ

"This vivid picture book will leave kids longing for jetpacks, while taking off on their own flights of fancy."--Booklist

About the Author


Lisl H. Detlefsen lives on a cranberry marsh in central Wisconsin with her husband and two young sons. She is the author of Time for Cranberries, a picture book published by Roaring Brook (Fall 2015). Visit her on Twitter @lislhd or at lislhdbooks.com.

Linzie Hunter's hand-lettering and illustrations have appeared in books, magazines and advertising campaigns internationally. Her client list includes: Nike, the BBC, Marks and Spencer, Hallmark, Harper Collins, Random House, The Guardian, Time Magazine and The Wall Street Journal. Learn more about Linzie on instagram @linziehunter or on her website at LinzieHunter.co.uk.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399553295
ISBN-10: 0399553290
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 24th, 2018
Pages: 40
Language: English