Aster and the Accidental Magic (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Aster and the Accidental Magic Cover Image
By Thom Pico, Karensac (Illustrator)
$12.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Aster is not happy when her family decides to relocate to the middle of nowhere. But no matter how much whining, begging, and pleading she does, her family's decision is final. The great migration (of bloodthirsty birds who terrorize the country side!) is just around the corner, and her mom must finish her solution to the problem (a gigantic robotic bird!) before it is too late! But this is just the beginning of Aster's magical adventures. She will soon encounter old ladies with herds of magical dogs, trickster spirits, and the Gods of each season. Somehow it will fall upon her shoulders to keep the balance of the mountainside intact. This little graphic novel was such a delight; I fell absolutely in love with these characters and their wacky adventures. Not to mention the adorable art! This series is perfect for fans of Adventure Time and Hilda.

— Parker Jensen

Spring 2020 Kids Indie Next List


“This book is perfect for fans of Hilda, with the simple design of Adventure Time and the guileless charm of Steven Universe. Aster is NOT happy to be moving into the boring old woods, but she quickly learns that there is more in this valley than meets the eye when she stumbles into the truth at the core of every local legend.”
— Stephanie Heinz, PRINT: A Bookstore, Portland, ME

Description


A fun, action-packed fantasy adventure about a girl, her dog, and magic gone wrong!

Quiet . . . birds . . . nature. . . .

That's what Aster expects when her parents move their whole family to the middle of nowhere. It's just her (status: super-bored), her mom and dad (status: busy with science), her brother (status: has other plans), and . . .

. . . magic?

In her new home, Aster meets a mysterious old woman with a herd of dogs who gives her a canine companion of her own. But when she and her dog Buzz are adventuring in the forest, they run into a trickster spirit who gives Aster three wishes. After wishing for the ability to understand and talk to her dog, she becomes only able to talk in dog language . . . and the trouble she gets into is just starting.

Maybe the middle of nowhere will be more interesting than Aster thought.

"Crisp, vibrant artwork." -The AV Club

About the Author


Thom Pico was born in 1989 in Périgueux. Since then, his enthusiasm for writing has led him to a number of different projects, including theater, writing and youth workshops -- until Karensac offered to collaborate with him on their new comic book project. You can find him online at @ThomPico.

Karensac was born in 1990 in Grenoble. Always passionate about comics, her webcomic won the Angouleme New Voices prize for online work. Aster and the Accidental Magic is her first graphic novel. You can find her online at @MlleKarensac.

Praise For…


Full of sardonic asides and general whimsy, this will make readers eager to snag the promised sequel and begin rural adventures of their own.” —Bulletin, starred review

“An entertaining and lighthearted fantasy." —Kirkus Reviews

"Spirited adventure and an oddball sense of humor make this a promising start to a series that will be perfect for fans of the Hilda comics." —Publishers Weekly

"Featuring simple lines and appealingly bizarre creatures, the art will entice readers." —School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593118849
ISBN-10: 0593118847
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2020
Pages: 224
Series: Aster