The Assignment (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Assignment Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $14.39
(Save: $3.60 20%)
On Our Shelves Now
29 on hand, as of Sep 27 1:15am
(JUVENILE YOUNG ADULT)

Staff Reviews


In Liza Wiemer’s timely and important novel, a community, a school, and one history class confront antisemitism after a teacher assigns a chilling project focusing on Hitler’s Final Solution. When they show the courage to protest the ethics of such an assignment, Logan March and Cade Crawford endure verbal attacks from other students, harsh words from a teacher they’d respected, and a hateful act of vandalism. As much as I wanted to think this could never happen, the story is based on a true event. The Assignment will have readers contemplating the choices they might make when faced with injustice. I found Logan and Cade’s tenacity inspirational, and rooted for the friends who, while caught up in their own problems, still found the courage to support them. Yes, the story is disturbing, but the heartfelt writing makes this a book filled with love and ultimately with hope. The Assignment is eye-opening and probably one of the most thought-provoking novels I have read in years. I can see this book incorporated into high school curriculum and also finding a wide adult audience, and I can't wait to see it change lives. Bravo, Liza!

— Jenny Chou

Description


Inspired by a real-life incident, this riveting novel explores discrimination and antisemitism and reveals their dangerous impact.

SENIOR YEAR. When an assignment given by a favorite teacher instructs a group of students to argue for the Final Solution, a euphemism used to describe the Nazi plan for the genocide of the Jewish people, Logan March and Cade Crawford are horrified. Their teacher cannot seriously expect anyone to complete an assignment that fuels intolerance and discrimination. Logan and Cade decide they must take a stand.

As the school administration addressed the teens' refusal to participate in the appalling debate, the student body, their parents, and the larger community are forced to face the issue as well. The situation explodes, and acrimony and anger result. What does it take for tolerance, justice, and love to prevail?

About the Author


Liza Wiemer is an award-winning educator with over twenty years of experience. She is the author of two adult nonfiction books, as well as a young adult novel. She lives in Milwaukee with her family. Visit her at LizaWiemer.com and follow @lizawiemer on Twitter and @lizamwiemer on Instagram.

Praise For…


An important look at a critical moment in history through a modern lens showcasing the power of student activism. A good choice for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and Nic Stone’s Dear Martin.School Library Journal

"This wise and nuanced novel has loving arms that, while hugging two teens who must confront a popular teacher, also can reach all those who are belittled and unheard." —Thanhhà Lại, New York Times bestselling author of Inside Out & Back Again and Butterfly Yellow

"A riveting, important, and thought-provoking read. Unputdownable and unforgettable.” —Leah Cypess, author of THE DEATH SWORN series 
 
"This fast-paced, compelling story will inspire readers to stick to their principles and fight for what’s right. A timely and necessary read.” —Kip Wilson, author of White Rose

Brave, breath-stealing and bold. A compelling and necessary read.”Gae Polisner, author of The Memory of Things and Jack Kerouac Is Dead to Me  

Readers won’t be able to resist putting themselves in the students’ shoes and thinking about when and where they themselves would draw the line, or if they would dare confront power at all.” —Nancy Werlin, author of The Rules of Survival

“. . . this fast paced novel will keep readers thoroughly engaged.  An important plot-driven story about two teens who stand up for what’s right in the face of adversity.” –Kirkus Reviews




Product Details
ISBN: 9780593123164
ISBN-10: 0593123166
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: August 25th, 2020
Pages: 336