Clarice the Brave (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Clarice the Brave By Lisa McMann Cover Image
$17.99
Not in stock at Boswell. Available to order.

Staff Reviews


Ship mouse Clarice has already lost her mother and siblings when a crew mutiny sends her over the side of the ship with provisions, leaving her brother Charles Sebastian behind. What’s worse, in this small boat is not just the Captain and his loyalists but also Special Lady, the very ship cat who ate Clarice’s sister Olivia. This is just the beginning of an epic tale of adventure and friendship that already feels like a classic! Clarice must learn to trust Special Lady as she tries to figure out how she can ever get reunited with her baby brother. Almost driving the narrative are the words that Clarice’s mother said to her: ‘It only takes one mouse to believe in you. And that one mouse is me.’ So exciting, so emotional, so many lines I want to quote – Clarice the Brave is a triumph!

— Daniel Goldin

"It only takes one mouse to believe in you." That was the lesson mother gave to Clarice and her brother, Charles Sebastian, but it takes a lot of believing to think any mouse can survive a ship divided by mutiny and prowled by hungry cats and angry sailors. When Clarice and Charles Sebastian get separated, they have constant doubts about each other's survival and how in the world they'll ever find each other again. Their determination to try takes them on an epic journey. Along the way they'll face great loss while discovering friendship and love in the most surprising places. As she did with her Unwanteds series, McMann writes with warmth, wisdom, and a perceptive view of humanity through the eyes of remarkable characters, some human and some animals with tremendous heart. This book may just renew your power to believe!

— Tim McCarthy

Description


The New York Times bestselling author of The Unwanteds brings us an epic animal adventure story perfect for fans of Pax and A Wolf Called Wander.

Clarice is a young ship mouse grieving the loss of her mother when a mutiny forces her onto a small, leaky boat with a dangerous cat. Worse, she is separated from her younger brother, Charles Sebastian, who is trapped aboard the great ship.
 
Clarice and Charles Sebastian were taught to always be careful—but they will need to grow bold if they are to survive . . . and find one another again.

About the Author


Lisa McMann is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of dozens of books like The Unwanteds series and the Wake trilogy. She is married to fellow writer and musician, Matt McMann, and they have two adult children--her son is artist Kilian McMann and her daughter is actor Kennedy McMann. Lisa spends most of her time in Arizona, California, and Vancouver BC, and loves to cook, read, and watch reality TV.

Praise For…


Praise for Clarice the Brave:

"[A] wondrous journey of self-discovery . . . Normalizes feelings of sadness and grief for younger readers, relayed in an assured tone and elegant prose." —Publishers Weekly

"An absorbing adventure from an unexpected perspective." —Booklist

"Very well drawn . . . A fine, unusual story." —Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593323373
ISBN-10: 0593323378
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 12th, 2021
Pages: 272
Language: English