The Ones We're Meant to Find (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Ones We're Meant to Find Cover Image
By Joan He
List Price: $18.99
Our Price: $15.19
(Save: $3.80 20%)
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of May 17 1:01am
(JUVENILE YOUNG ADULT)

Staff Reviews


On an island, somewhere out in the vast ocean, Cee has only one goal: find her sister Kasey. In Joan He’s enthralling, futuristic page-turner, the relationship between two sisters holds the destiny of earth in the balance. As climate change finally ravages our land and oceans, a chosen few take refuge in a levitating city built in the sky. The rest of humanity flounders on the surface, victims of extreme weather and a polluted atmosphere. Kasey may be a teenager, but her intellect leads her to a plan that will allow earth to recover and humans to thrive once again. But first she must solve the mystery of her missing sister, whose love of the ocean and swimming might have cost her life. Kasey’s search leads her to a mysterious boy named Actinium, who is either trying his best to help her or might be her biggest enemy. In a twisty, unpredictable way that’s reminiscent of We Were Liars, nothing is as it seems in this unforgettable book.

— Jenny Chou

Description


A New York Times Bestseller, perfect for fans of Marie Lu and E. Lockhart, The Ones We're Meant to Find is a gripping and heartfelt YA sci-fi with mind-blowing twists. Set in a climate-ravaged future, Joan He’s beautifully written novel follows the story of two sisters, separated by an ocean, desperately trying to find each other.

Cee has been trapped on an abandoned island for three years and seventeen days without any recollection of how she arrived, or memories from her life prior. All she knows is that somewhere out there, beyond the horizon, she has a sister named Kay. Determined to find her, Cee devotes her days to building a boat from junk parts scavenged inland, doing everything in her power to survive until the day she gets off the island and reunites with her sister.

In a world apart, 16-year-old STEM prodigy Kasey Mizuhara is also living a life of isolation. The eco-city she calls home is one of eight levitating around the world, built for people who protected the planet—and now need protecting from it. With natural disasters on the rise due to climate change, eco-cities provide clean air, water, and shelter. Their residents, in exchange, must spend at least a third of their time in stasis pods, conducting business virtually whenever possible to reduce their environmental footprint. While Kasey, an introvert and loner, doesn’t mind the lifestyle, her sister Celia hated it. Popular and lovable, Celia much preferred the outside world. But no one could have predicted that Celia would take a boat out to sea, never to return.

Now it’s been three months since Celia’s disappearance, and Kasey has given up hope. Logic says that her sister must be dead. But as the public decries her stance, she starts to second guess herself and decides to retrace Celia’s last steps. Where they’ll lead her, she does not know. Her sister was full of secrets. But Kasey has a secret of her own.

About the Author


Joan He was born and raised in Philadelphia but still, on occasion, loses her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories were her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and currently writes from a desk overlooking the city waterfront. She is the New York Times-bestselling author of The Ones We're Meant to Find and Descendant of the Crane, her young adult debut novel.

Praise For…


A New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Bestseller

"I fell in love with this haunting, futuristic world and the sisters searching for each other in it. Joan He's words will stay with you long after the final page." - Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Skyhunter

"Much like the floating cities within its pages, this book is a perfect synthesis of high-tech futurism and dreamlike imagery. Gripping, heartfelt, and joyously cerebral, this is a story to dive into and let its twisting currents pull you into a strange, clever, and startlingly original world." Emily Suvada, author of This Mortal Coil

"In a climate-ravaged future, the love between two sisters is the only hope for humanity's future. This is sci-fi at its best: floating cities, kindness and desert islands!" Lauren James, author of The Reckless Afterlife of Harriet Stoker

"Interweaving Cee’s immediate first-person voice and Kasey’s more removed third-person narration, He crafts an intricate, well-paced rumination on human nature, choice, and consequence." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Exhilarating and heartbreaking... This fast-paced sf tale is sure to linger." - Booklist

"A stunning and compelling novel full of twists and an emotional pull that will make readers want to finish it in one go." - BuzzFeed

"An intriguing foray into a devastating future—and yet one where hope abides." - Kirkus

"A melancholy, heartbreaking story of a young woman who loved her sister enough to survive years of horrors in order to get back to her... It’s painful stuff, beautifully written, and He gives that suffering the space it deserves in this reflective novel." - The Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books (BCCB), recommended

"At turns whimsical and gut-wrenching, He’s writing drives home the high stakes and unreliability of our narrators, setting the stage for a tense and twisting plot." - School Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250258564
ISBN-10: 1250258561
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: May 4th, 2021
Pages: 384
Language: English