By the Time You Read This I'll Be Gone (Murder, She Wrote #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
By the Time You Read This I'll Be Gone (Murder, She Wrote #1) By Stephanie Kuehn Cover Image
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 2 1:03pm
(JUVENILE YOUNG ADULT)

Staff Reviews


This is a smart and savvy teen mystery. Beatrice Fletcher is the great-grandniece of Jessica Fletcher, the ageless TV murder-solving hero of Cabot Cove, Maine’s Murder, She Wrote. Bea has serious anxiety issues, but she’s intense and curious enough to face a risk-filled world. Her psychiatrist helps her manage the anxiety, she has a few good high school friends, and her interest in macabre true crime gives her the intensity. Now she’s writing for a start-up web site about the cold-case murder of a Cabot Cove teenage girl. It all comes together in a dangerous way when she posts that her closest friend is missing and that several other Cabot Cove teens have recently disappeared. Both the digital world and her cozy little seaside town soon know that she’s the first one to report him gone. Is she a suspect? Bea is the creation of an author who’s the mother of teens and also a clinical psychologist. It shows. She sounds true to teen reality, and also true to people who keep going despite their fear. This is the first of a series. I’m hooked! Just like I was hooked on the TV show.

— Tim McCarthy

Description


Small town murders.

Big time thrills.

A suspenseful, modern update of the classic mystery TV series that's perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying, Sadie, and Gossip Girl.

"Killers walk among us. Statistically, at least one of them knows your name…"

Beatrice Fletcher is obsessed with unsolved murders in her small town of Cabot Cove, Maine like her great-aunt Jessica, the famous mystery writer. But when her best friend Jackson goes missing, this time the mystery is personal.

Then Jackson fails to show up for a late night meet-up, and instead, Bea stumbles upon three students from the elite Broadmoor Academy: overly-friendly and slightly vicious Leisl, her aloof twin brother, Leif, and Carlos, who knows more about, well, everything than he’s letting on. They’re worldly, secretive, and big on playing games like tenace, the hush-hush Broadmoor tradition where anything or anyone can be a clue to future fame and fortune, and players will stop at nothing -- including murder -- to get ahead.

If Bea wants to find Jackson, she too must join the game and play to win. Everyone in Cabot Cove has secrets, and it’s up to Bea to ferret them out before it’s too late in this thrilling modern update of the classic television show.

About the Author


Stephanie Kuehn is a clinical psychologist and an award-winning author of six novels for teens, including Charm & Strange, which won the ALA's 2014 William C. Morris Award for best debut young adult novel. Booklist has praised her work as "Intelligent, compulsively readable literary fiction with a dark twist." As a lifelong Murder, She Wrote fan, Stephanie recently introduced the series to her own teenagers, who now share her love of mystery and all things Cabot Cove.

Praise For…


Praise for Murder, She Wrote:

"A gripping thriller with a winning protagonist." -- Kirkus Reviews

"In a gripping series opener, Kuehn mixes small-town coziness with intriguing dual mysteries." -- Publishers Weekly

"Kuehn's Murder, She Wrote–inspired novel will turn a new generation to cozy mysteries!" -- Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9781338764550
ISBN-10: 1338764551
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: October 4th, 2022
Pages: 304
Language: English