Carry My Secret to Your Grave (Murder, She Wrote #2) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Carry My Secret to Your Grave (Murder, She Wrote #2) By Stephanie Kuehn Cover Image
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 24 1:06am
(JUVENILE YOUNG ADULT)

Staff Reviews


This is the second installment in a smart and savvy teen mystery series. Beatrice Fletcher is the great-grandniece of Jessica Fletcher, the ageless TV crime-solving hero of Cabot Cove, Maine’s Murder, She Wrote. Bea has serious anxiety issues, but she’s intense and curious enough to face a risk-filled world. Her psychiatrist helps her, “Aunt Jess” is still around to offer wise counsel, and her obsessive interest in the truth about crimes gives her the intensity. She’s been writing for a start-up web site about cold-case murders around Cabot Cove and has helped solve some cases. Now she's spending time with friends she met in the first book from the elite Broadmoor Academy. They play a cryptic century-old Broadmoor game known as tenace that promises a wonderous unknown prize but could be tied to the death of a former student who was close to them all. The terrifying death threats Bea’s getting make everything more bizarre. Bea is the creation of an author with teen children who's also a clinical psychologist. It shows. She sounds true to teen reality, and she’s also true to people who keep going despite their fear. I’m hooked on the series! Just like I was hooked on the TV show.

— Tim McCarthy

Description


Small town murders.

Big time thrills.

The second installment in the suspenseful, modern update of the classic mystery TV series. Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying, Sadie, and Gossip Girl.

"Someone knows where you live. And whoever they are, they want you to know… you’re next."

Bea Fletcher never met a cold case she didn't want to solve. So when she finds herself staying with family near Lake Paloma, she's torn. Sure, she's not thrilled to be bunking with her moody, taciturn uncle and his wife while her father's out of town. Being away from Cabot Cove means less time for Bea to work on her true crime blog, visit her great-aunt Jessica, and spend time with new friends Leisl, Leif, and Carlos and the mysterious underground treasure hunting game they've been playing.

But Lake Paloma has mysteries of its own, including the unsolved drowning of teenaged Eden Vicente the year before. And when Bea starts to ask questions about Eden's death, the answers lead her closer to home than she ever imagined. If Bea isn't careful, she could be the next girl to end up at the bottom of the lake.

And underwater, no one can hear you scream...

About the Author


Stephanie Kuehn is a clinical psychologist and an award-winning author of six novels for teens, including Charm & Strange, which won the ALA's 2014 William C. Morris Award for best debut young adult novel. Booklist has praised her work as "intelligent, compulsively readable literary fiction with a dark twist." As a lifelong Murder, She Wrote fan, Stephanie recently introduced the series to her own teenagers, who now share her love of mystery and all things Cabot Cove.

Praise For…


Praise for Carry My Secret to Your Grave:

"Appealingly blend[s] classic mystery tropes with a smart, contemporary protagonist." -- Kirkus Reviews

Praise for By the Time You Read This I'll Be Gone:

"A gripping thriller with a winning protagonist." -- Kirkus Reviews

"In a gripping series opener, Kuehn mixes small-town coziness with intriguing dual mysteries." -- Publishers Weekly

"Kuehn's Murder, She Wrote-inspired novel will turn a new generation to cozy mysteries!" -- Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9781338764581
ISBN-10: 1338764586
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: October 31st, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English