The Philosopher's Flight (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Philosopher's Flight Cover Image
$26.00
On Our Shelves Now
13 on hand, as of May 24 11:45am
(FANTASY)

Staff Reviews


In a re-imagined World War I era America, the arcane science of empirical philosophy allows those skilled at it to control certain aspects of the physical world. It's thought that only women possess the natural power and prowess for philosophy, but Robert Weekes is determined to join the all-female Elite Corps of Rescue Flyers. Miller's timely story and stunning feat of world building will get you hooked, and you'll stay as Robert and his friends (incredible philosopher ladies) encounter adventure and adversity in a war-torn, challenging world. I LOVE this book!

— Olivia S.

Magic and science collide to create a powerful force called Philosophy in this whirlwind alternate history adventure! At the start of WWI, Robert has just earned an unprecedented scholarship to an all women's college to practice Philosophy, a type of magic primarily practiced by women. Any reader who has ever faced the humiliating frustration of being told they cannot do something because of their gender will find a home in this book. Miller captures the heartbreak, determination, and anger that plagues the gender divide so perfectly. Fans of Deborah Harkness and Matthew Pearl will be blown away by this stellar new author.
— From Kelli's Staff Recommendations

Description


"Rarely does a novel begin with rollicking fierceness that grabs readers from its opening lines and doesn't loosen its grip or lessen its hold all the way through... Miller's writing is intoxicating and one doesn't need to be a fantasy or sci-fi fan to adore this book."--Kim Curtis, Associated Press

"The Philosopher's Flight by debut novelist Tom Miller has already set a high bar for any book vying to be the most entertaining novel of 2018."--Ian Schwartz, Bookpage

A thrilling debut from ER doctor turned novelist Tom Miller, The Philosopher's Flight is an epic historical fantasy set in a World-War-I-era America where magic and science have blended into a single extraordinary art. "Like his characters, Tom Miller casts a spell." (Matthew Pearl, author of The Dante Club and The Last Bookaneer)

Eighteen-year-old Robert Weekes is a practitioner of empirical philosophy--an arcane, female-dominated branch of science used to summon the wind, shape clouds of smoke, heal the injured, and even fly. Though he dreams of fighting in the Great War as the first male in the elite US Sigilry Corps Rescue and Evacuation Service--a team of flying medics--Robert is resigned to mixing batches of philosophical chemicals and keeping the books for the family business in rural Montana, where his mother, a former soldier and vigilante, aids the locals.

When a deadly accident puts his philosophical abilities to the test, Robert rises to the occasion and wins a scholarship to study at Radcliffe College, an all-women's school. At Radcliffe, Robert hones his skills and strives to win the respect of his classmates, a host of formidable, unruly women.

Robert falls hard for Danielle Hardin, a disillusioned young war hero turned political radical. However, Danielle's activism and Robert's recklessness attract the attention of the same fanatical anti-philosophical group that Robert's mother fought years before. With their lives in mounting danger, Robert and Danielle band together with a team of unlikely heroes to fight for Robert's place among the next generation of empirical philosophers--and for philosophy's very survival against the men who would destroy it.

In the tradition of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness, Tom Miller writes with unrivaled imagination, ambition, and humor. The Philosopher's Flight is both a fantastical reimagining of American history and a beautifully composed coming-of-age tale for anyone who has ever felt like an outsider.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781476778150
ISBN-10: 1476778159
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: February 13th, 2018
Pages: 432
Language: English