The Flood Girls: A Book Club Recommendation! (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Flood Girls: A Book Club Recommendation! Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jul 19 12:45am

Staff Reviews

Living in Quinn, Montana might be tough, but the women who do are tougher! After a 9 year absence, Rachel Flood has returned to make amends with her mother, Laverna, and rediscover her home town. Now sober for over a year, Rachel knows it will take a lot of hard work to set things right. Laverna Flood owns the ‘Dirty Shame’ bar and coaches the local softball team, both of which involve a fair share of brawls and booze. Laverna and her best friend, Red Mabel, never expected to see Rachel again. With her homecoming, they're faced with a painful reminder of the past. Rachel moves into her father's trailer home and finds a friend in her 12 year old neighbor, Jake. With his help, Rachel and ‘The Flood Girls’ may just be able to work through their history and learn to be a team. The Flood Girls is absolutely heartwarming and the colorful cast will make you laugh and cry.

— Jen Steele


February 2016 Indie Next List Pick

This snappy, sassy redemption story set in small-town Montana is “a wild and crazy debut novel by a talented young writer” (Jackie Collins), filled with an uproarious and unforgettable cast of characters you won’t want to leave behind.

“[The Flood Girls] includes barfights and AA meetings, a parade, a wedding, and a black bear, all of which Fifield juggles beautifully...The Wild West earns its name all over again in this lovable chronicle of small-town insanity.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Welcome to Quinn, Montana, population: 956. A town where nearly all of the volunteer firemen are named Jim, where The Dirty Shame—the only bar in town—refuses to serve mixed drinks (too much work), where the locals hate the newcomers (then again, they hate the locals, too), and where the town softball team has never even come close to having a winning season. Until now.

Rachel Flood has snuck back into town after leaving behind a trail of chaos nine years prior. She’s here to make amends, but nobody wants to hear it, especially her mother, Laverna. But with the help of a local boy named Jake and a little soul-searching, she just might make things right.

In the spirit of Empire Falls and A League of Their Own, with the caustic wit of Where’d You Go, Bernadette thrown in for good measure, Richard Fifield’s hilarious and heartwarming debut will have you laughing through tears.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781476797397
ISBN-10: 1476797390
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: November 1st, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English