Intrigue in Istanbul (A Jane Wunderly Mystery #4) (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Intrigue in Istanbul (A Jane Wunderly Mystery #4) By Erica Ruth Neubauer Cover Image
$27.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Jane and Redvers are unofficially engaged, and as it’s still the 1920s, it’s time to tell Jane’s father, a noted Boston archeologist, of their intentions. Yet the man is nowhere to be found. The discovery that his home is mortgaged to the hilt, along with other clues, suggest he is financing an expedition to find the legendary Sultan’s Heart. What else is a bold, amateur detective to do than chase him down? This Indiana Jones-inspired adventure jumps into another mystery subgenre and has a lot of fun along the way, introducing new players and some bold moves from familiar ones -bravo, Aunt Millie! Plus, lots of the promised intrigue.

— Daniel Goldin

Erica Ruth Neubauer celebrates the launch of her latest Jane Wunderly mystery at Boswell on Tuesday, March 28, 6:30 pm. Click here and register please.

Things are looking up for widow Jane Wunderly - she's solved a few mysteries, and her new fiancé Redvers is ready to make it official with the blessing of her father. So of course, that's when her father decides to go missing, with barely any clues as to his whereabouts. On the assumption that he's after a mythical relic thought lost to the ages, the two are led on a merry chase that takes them from Istanbul to Budapest on the Orient Express, danger at their heels. What a thrill! There's something for everyone in the latest from Erica Ruth Neubauer, from the period-perfect details to the smart and capable heroine that leads the charge. Makes me want to solve murders in fabulous clothing - if I can't do that, surely this is the next best thing. 

— Rachel Copeland

Description


In Agatha Award-winning author Erica Ruth Neubauer’s fourth wanderlust-inspiring historical mystery, it’s 1926 and the adventures of vibrant, young American widow Jane Wunderly send her to Istanbul, Turkey, where the search for her archeologist father unravels secrets tied to a mysterious relic from the Ottoman Empire…

Istanbul, 1926: After her historian father makes a clandestine journey abroad, Jane and the dapper Mr. Redvers trace his footsteps while signs of danger loom back home in the United States. They’re greeted at their destination by Aunt Millie and unsettling news: Professor Wunderly was on a mission to locate the lost heart of Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent—a legendary relic from the Ottoman Empire said to possess potent mystical powers—then vanished completely, leaving behind his unpacked luggage, a perplexing riddle, and an eerie mystery Jane must solve to keep her loved ones safe.

What starts off as a clear-cut investigation becomes an intercontinental game of cat and mouse as Jane realizes a gang of nameless figures have been stalking her every move from Turkey to Hungary. And it seems even helpful friends can’t be trusted for long when a man is stabbed to death on the Orient Express to Budapest. With Redvers by her side and few clues to rely on, Jane’s desperate search for her father leads to centuries-old secrets and an unidentified enemy who could make her disappear like the missing Sultan’s heart . . .

About the Author


Erica Ruth Neubauer is the Agatha Award-winning author of the Jane Wunderly Mysteries, as well as an Anthony Award and Lefty Award finalist. She spent eleven years in the military, nearly two as a Maryland police officer, and one as a high school English teacher, before finding her way as a writer. She has been a reviewer of mysteries and crime fiction for publications such as Publishers Weekly and Mystery Scene Magazine for several years, and she’s a member of Sisters in Crime and Mystery Writers of America. Erica Ruth lives in Milwaukee, WI. Visit her at EricaRuthNeubauer.com.

Praise For…


Praise for the Jane Wunderly Mysteries:

“The winning team of the smart, compassionate Jane and the resourceful Redvers is guaranteed to please series fans and draw in some new ones.”  Publishers Weekly on Danger on the Atlantic
 
“You’ll be forgiven if the music from Titanic plays in your head while you explore a gorgeous ocean liner and watch Jane and Redvers solve an intriguing mystery.”Criminal Element on Danger on the Atlantic
 
“This is a fun historical mystery that will make you want to visit a different 20s!”The Parkersburg News on Danger on the Atlantic
 
“Because Jane is a modern woman, she uses her own smarts and her own skills to eventually solve the crime and nab the culprit. Jane is faced with starting to come to terms with her own past and beginning to look ahead to a future. She’s also American, so this reader is wondering if she’s headed back stateside in the next installment. I can’t wait to find out.” Mystery Scene on Murder at Wedgefield Manor

“Neubauer’s sophomore effort is just as sparkling as her debut, filled with dashing adventure, a classic mystery, 1920s glamor, and a touch of romance. Murder at Wedgefield Manor once again updates a classic formula for contemporary audiences. And did I remember to say it was dashing?” —Daniel Goldin, Boswell Books Company (Milwaukee, WI) on Murder at Wedgefield Manor

“Neubauer’s sprightly follow-up…The country house intrigue and an unconventional chase reap rewards. Readers will look forward to further cases of the intrepid Jane and the mysterious Mr. Redvers.” Publishers Weekly on Murder at Wedgefield Manor

“A retro whodunit with a comfy cast and a nifty solution.” Kirkus Reviews on Murder at Wedgefield Manor

“Stunning revelations, romance, adventure, and intrigue abound in this multilayered, delightfully entertaining whodunit. Neubauer’s debut dazzles, with a smart plot, remarkable scenery, and skilled execution.” Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW on Murder at the Mena House
 
Jane is a feisty heroine, the setting is enticingly depicted, and there are several intriguing subplots. Fans of Agatha Christie will enjoy this homage. —Booklist on Murder at the Mena House
 
“Neubauer’s promising debut…[Readers] will be eager for the next installment.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder at the Mena House
 
"Engaging...A very good start to a new historical mystery series." Mystery Scene on Murder at the Mena House
 
“A roaring Twenties adventure.” Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine on Murder at the Mena House
 
“A welcome vacation…Erica Ruth Neubauer could whisk you off to a swanky Egyptian resort in the 1920s with plenty of cocktails and a mysterious handsome stranger.” Milwaukee Journal Sentinel on Murder at the Mena House
 
“Fans of Elizabeth Peter are going to want to get in on the ground floor of Erica Ruth Neubauer’s Jane Wunderly mysteries.” —Jess Lourey in CrimeReads on Murder at the Mena House
 
Murder at the Mena House reflects a much more glamorous and gentler age of sleuthing, when the detective wore a tuxedo instead of a trench coat and his lovely companion didn’t merely sit around and wait to be rescued from the villain’s clutches.” New York Journal of Books on Murder at the Mena House
 
 “This delightful new historical mystery series highlights a charming heroine, albeit one with secrets up her sleeve, and features colorful characters, a picturesque setting, sparkling wit, and a healthy dose of suspense.” —Daniel Goldin, Boswell Books Company (Milwaukee, WI) on Murder at the Mena House
 
“This charming debut is perfect for fans of Tasha Alexander and Deanna Raybourn. I can't wait to see what Jane's next adventure will be!” —John McDougall, Murder by the Book Bookstore (Houston, TX)
 
“If you want to escape to a glamorous hotel in 1920s Egypt and solve a good, old-fashioned murder with a witty heroine, this is the book for you!”  —Devin Abraham, Once Upon a Crime Books (Minneapolis, MN) on Murder at the Mena House
 
"With deft characterizations, an engaging plot, and the most compelling heroine I’ve found since Amelia Peabody, Erica Ruth Neubauer’s Murder at the Mena House is the best book you’ll read this year. I can’t wait for the next installment of this phenomenal series.” —Tasha Alexander, author of In the Shadow of Vesuvius on Murder at the Mena House
 
“What a refreshing surprise to be back on the Nile in this confident and accomplished debut. Neubauer pays proper homage to the Golden Age, but her crisp style and witty heroine ensure that Murder at the Mena House zips along in a thoroughly modern
manner. I hope plucky Jane Wunderly has a long sleuthing future ahead; I, for one, am already looking forward to her next adventure.” —Catriona McPherson, author of Go To My Grave on Murder at the Mena House
 
“A thrilling new series!” —Victoria Thompson, national bestselling author of Murder on Union Square on Murder at the Mena House
 
“It’s no small feat to bring 1920s colonial Egypt to life, but Murder at the Mena House does far more than that. It’s an elegant mystery—written with wit, style, and heart—and Jane Wunderly is an unforgettable sleuth. Erica Neubauer’s debut is an absolute delight.” —Hilary Davidson, Anthony Award–winning author of Don’t Look Down on Murder at the Mena House
 
Murder at the Mena House is impossible to put down. A pitch-perfect mystery, with an exotic locale, and an unforgettable main character I hope to encounter again in future books. Erica Neubauer has created one of the most impressive debut novels I’ve read.” —Alex Grecian, author of The Saint of Wolves and Butchers on Murder at the Mena House
 
“An exotic trip back in time to 1920s Egypt, with a cast of winning characters right out of the Golden Age of crime fiction. Murder at the Mena House is a charming adventure cum murder mystery set in a luxury hotel at the foot of the great pyramids. Gigolos, cardsharps, smugglers, rich aunts, and one achingly handsome romantic interest surround our plucky, irresistible, complex heroine, the young widow Mrs. Jane Wunderly. An auspicious start to what promises to be an exciting and compelling series.” —James W. Ziskin, Anthony and Macavity Award-winning author of the Ellie Stone mysteries on Murder at the Mena House


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496741158
ISBN-10: 1496741153
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: March 28th, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: A Jane Wunderly Mystery