Lily and the Night Creatures (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Lily and the Night Creatures By Nick Lake, Emily Gravett (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nick Lake, Emily Gravett (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Sep 30 2:03am
(JUVENILE INTERMEDIATE AG)

Staff Reviews


Lily is not happy about getting a new sibling. She's chronically ill and feels like her parents are replacing her with a "perfect" baby. When the big day arrives, Lily is sent to stay with her grandmother overnight. Realizing she forgot to bring her favorite stuffed animal, Lily decides to go home and get it before her grandmother notices she's gone. And then things get spooky. Her parents are home with no baby, and they are not what they seem. Aided by the night creatures, Lily must defeat these "not-parents" and save her home. Nick Lake delivers a big-hearted novel filled with humor and chills.

— Jen Steele

Description


A young girl sets out to defeat the evil spirits inhabiting her home in this delightfully dark middle grade adventure perfect for fans of Coraline and Margaret Peterson Haddix’s The Strangers.

Lily is used to hospitals—she’s spent more time in them than out of them thanks to her recent health issues. But when her mother goes into labor, her parents drop her off at her grandmother’s house and rush to the hospital without her. Lily doesn’t want the new baby to replace her and she certainly doesn’t want to be sick anymore.

Most frustrating of all, she forgot to pack Willo, her favorite toy. Under her grandma’s not-so-watchful supervision, Lily sneaks back home to get Willo. Expecting to find an empty house, she is surprised to find her parents there. But something isn’t right... They look just like her mom and dad until she gets closer and sees their coal black eyes. And they refuse to let her in—it’s their house now.

With the help of some surprising new friends that she meets in her garden, Lily is determined to beat these shadowy replacements and be reunited with her real parents. But is she strong enough to triumph?

About the Author


Nick Lake is a children’s book editor at Harper UK. He received his degree in English from Oxford University. His Blood Ninja trilogy was inspired by his interest in the Far East, and by the fact that he is secretly a vampire ninja himself. Nick lives with his wife and daughter in England. Visit him on Twitter @NickLakeAuthor.

Emily Gravett is the two-time winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal with Wolves and Little Mouse's Big Book of Fears.  Her internationally award-winning picture books include Meerkat Mail, Tidy and Old Hat.  She has illustrated bestselling fiction, including Matt Haig's Evie and the Animals and and a recent full-colour edition of Quidditch Through the Ages

@emily_gravett

Praise For…


"Viscerally rendered emotions and resonant chronic-illness representation build to a thrilling collaboration that deals in horror tropes...[e]mploying concrete metaphors, Lake (Satellite) confronts taboo but important emotions, including jealousy and passive suicidal ideation, softening them with the animals’ optimistic banter. Grayscale illustrations by Gravett (The Imaginary) unsettle through off-kilter architecture and whimsical figures as, alongside Lily, illustrations and text evolve toward hope."
Publishers Weekly, starred review

"An appealing tale of fortitude with just the right amounts of spookiness, playfulness, and heart."
Booklist, starred review

"This story beautifully blends horror elements with animal fantasy and realistic issues. The replacement parents are creepy and reminiscent of those in Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, but there is plenty to differentiate the tales. The animals add humor and levity to the adventure, while Lily is believably frustrated with her sickness and scared that The Baby is taking over her place in the family. Gravett’s illustrations add to the magic and whimsy; they are particularly striking when showcasing the animals’ expressive features...[a]n appealing tale of fortitude with just the right amounts of spookiness, playfulness, and heart."
 
— Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9781534494619
ISBN-10: 1534494618
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: August 30th, 2022
Pages: 240
Language: English