The Midwife of Auschwitz (Paperback)

The Midwife of Auschwitz By Anna Stuart Cover Image
$17.99
Not in stock at Boswell. Available to order.

Description


Inspired by a heartbreaking true story, this poignant novel tells of one woman’s brave fight for love, life, and hope during a time of unimaginable darkness in WWII Germany, perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Auschwitz, 1943: As I held the tiny baby in my arms, my fingers traced the black tattoo etched across her little thigh. And I prayed that one day this set of numbers, identical to her mother’s, would have the power to reunite a family torn apart by war…

Ana Kaminski is pushed through the iron gates of Auschwitz beside her frightened young friend Ester Pasternak. As they reach the front of the line, Ana steps forward and quietly declares herself a midwife—and Ester her assistant. Their arms are tattooed, and they’re ordered to the maternity hut. Holding an innocent newborn baby, Ana knows the fate of so many are in her hands, and vows to do everything she can to save them.

When two guards in their chilling SS uniforms march in and snatch a blond-haired baby from its mother, it’s almost too much for Ana to bear. Consoling the distraught woman, Ana realizes amidst the terrible heartache there is a glimmer of hope. The guards are taking the healthiest babies and placing them with German families, so they will survive. And there are whispers the war is nearly over… Ana and Ester begin to secretly tattoo little ones with their mother’s numbers, praying one day they might be reunited.

Then, early one morning, Ana notices the small bump under Ester’s thin, striped clothing…

About the Author


Anna Stuart has wanted to be a writer ever since she could pick up a pen and was writing boarding-school novels by the age of nine. She made the early mistake of thinking she ought to get a "proper job" and went into Factory Planning—a career that gave her some wonderful experiences, amazing friends and even a fantastic husband, but didn’t offer much creative scope. So when she stopped to have children she finally took the chance to start the "improper job" of writing and hasn't ever looked back.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781538767825
ISBN-10: 1538767821
Publisher: Forever
Publication Date: February 27th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English