Pride and Prejudice (Paperback)

Pride and Prejudice Cover Image
Special Order


Classics for Your Collection:


The Pride of Jane Austen

The story is set in England in the late 18th century.

Charles Bingley, a wealthy and charismatic single man, moves to the Netherfield estate, and when he does, the residents there are very thrilled. Especially thrilled is Mrs. Bennet.


Because she wants to marry one her five daughters to him, as her husband is a bookish man and somewhat neglectful of his responsibilities. At a local ball, the daughters are impressed by his friendly disposition and down-to-earth demeanor...and they are less impressed by his friend Fitzwilliam Darcy, who is conceited and refuses to dance with the charming second daughter Elizabeth of Mrs. Bennet.

The story moves with all the charming qualities of a masterclass novel and it revolves around Elizabeth Bennet, the second daughter.

The Five Daughters:

Jane Bennet, the eldest daughter, is distinguished by her kindness and beauty; Elizabeth Bennet shares her father's keen wit and occasionally sarcastic outlook; Mary is studious, devout and musical albeit lacking in taste; Catherine, sometimes called Kitty, the fourth sister, follows where her younger sister leads while Lydia is flirtatious and lacks maturity.

Bingley and the oldest Bennet daughter, Jane, soon become close, but face opposition from Miss. Caroline Bingley, Bingley's sister. Meanwhile, Bingley's friend Darcy is, surprisingly, attracted to Elizabeth, though he objects to her family.

Elizabeth is instead attracted to George Wickham, a handsome and personable militia officer, who tells her that Darcy disobeyed his father's bequest of a clergyman's revenue to Wickham out of selfish resentment. Wickham's tale makes Darcy appear not only proud but cruel, and Elizabeth accepts Wickham's account without question, disliking Darcy even more because of it. But, is it true?

While all this is happening, the Bennet family is visited by Mr. Bennet's cousin, William Collins, a clergyman who will inherit Mr. Bennet's estate when he dies because of a legal stricture known as an entail. That story unfolds on its own when William Collins marries Elizabeth.

About the Author

Jane Austen (16 December 1775 - 18 July 1817) was an English novelist who is world renowned and is known primarily for her six major novels which interpret, critique and comment upon the life of the British landed gentry at the end of the 18th century. Her most highly praised novel during her lifetime was Pride and Prejudice, her second published novel. Austen's plots often explore the dependence of women on marriage in the pursuit of favorable social standing and economic security. The author's major novels are rarely out of print today, although they were first published anonymously and brought her little fame and brief reviews during her lifetime. A significant transition in her posthumous reputation as an author occurred in 1869, fifty-two years after her death, when her nephew's publication of A Memoir of Jane Austen introduced her to a wider audience. Austen's most successful novel during her lifetime was Pride and Prejudice, which went through two editions at the time. Her third published novel was Mansfield Park, which (despite being largely overlooked by reviewers) was successful during her lifetime. Between 1793 and 1795 Austen wrote Lady Susan, considered her most ambitious and sophisticated early novel.It is unlike Austen's other work; biographer Claire Tomalin describes the novella's heroine as a sexual predator who uses her intelligence and charm to manipulate, betray and abuse lovers, friends and family. One of England's favorite and best authors, she is best known for her social commentary in novels.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781544065472
ISBN-10: 1544065477
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2017
Pages: 280
Language: English