Nothing More Dangerous (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Nothing More Dangerous Cover Image
$35.00
Backordered

Staff Reviews


Nothing mysterious happens to Boady Sanden in Jessup, Missouri, and he wants out. He's a high school freshman living with his dog and his struggling mom, ten years after his dad's accidental death. He knows he shouldn't leave them, but he's saving to do just that. Then, along with the 1976 Presidential politics of Ford running against Reagan, he reads the name Lida Poe in the local newspaper during a dull Current Events class. He's drawn to the story of this black woman who disappeared from Jessup, where race matters far too much, and for the wrong reasons. They say Lida Poe stole a lot of money from her company and ran. Boady doesn't understand any of it yet. He doesn't even recognize the ingrained racism that comes naturally from his own mouth, but his instinct to protect a classmate from racist bullying draws him into a new world. New neighbors and a new understanding of a very familiar man next door leads to a year of growing up quickly. This is a strong mystery, written with a straightforward style in a teenage voice that I found totally believable and very enjoyable. It's an important take on racial hatred, as a young man starts to see the disturbing truth all around him. Powerful and satisfying.

 

— Tim McCarthy

Description


A coming-of-age novel in the tradition of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter: In a small town where loyalty to family and to your people carries the weight of a sacred oath, defying those unspoken rules can be a deadly proposition. After fifteen years of growing up in the Ozark hills with his widowed mother, high-school freshman Boady Sanden is beyond ready to move on. He dreams of glass towers and cityscapes, driven by his desire to be anywhere other than Jessup, Missouri. The new kid at St. Ignatius High School, if he isn't being pushed around, he is being completely ignored. Even his beloved woods, his playground as a child and his sanctuary as he grew older, seem to be closing in on him, suffocating him.Then Thomas Elgin moves in across the road, and Boady's life begins to twist and turn. Coming to know the Elgins -- a black family settling into a community where notions of us and them carry the weight of history -- forces Boady to rethink his understanding of the world he's taken for granted. Secrets hidden in plain sight begin to unfold: the mother who wraps herself in the loss of her husband, the neighbor who carries the wounds of a mysterious past that he holds close, the quiet boss who is fighting his own hidden battle.But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local plastics factory. Word has it that Ms. Poe left town, along with a hundred thousand dollars of company money. Although Boady has never met the missing woman, he discovers that the threads of her life are woven into the deepest fabric of his world. As the mystery of her fate plays out, Boady begins to see the stark lines of race and class that both bind and divide this small town -- and he will be forced to choose sides.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781549128493
ISBN-10: 1549128493
Publisher: Mulholland
Publication Date: November 12th, 2019
Language: English