Leonard and Hungry Paul (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Leonard and Hungry Paul Cover Image
List Price: $25.99
Our Price: $20.79
(Save: $5.20 20%)
On Our Shelves Now
15 on hand, as of Jan 21 2:45am
(FIC)

Staff Reviews


Hungry Paul wants a job. No, that’s a lie, he’s got one, a once-weekly substitute mail carrier gig. It’s actually his sister Grace who wants him to get a full-time job, so he’ll finally move out from his parents’ house. Leonard lived with his mom too, but she just passed away. Leonard has a job, ghost-writing copy for children’s reference books. He also has a dream, to write his own children’s book.  And maybe to go on a date with Shelley, with whom he shares office space. Hungry Paul also has a dream – to win a local contest coming up with a better way to close correspondence. ‘Sincerely yours’ just doesn’t cut it. Leonard and Hungry Paul is a delightful book with a gentle sense of humor - and sometimes not-so-gentle - I laughed out loud more than once. Leonard and Hungry Paul is perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and The Rosie Project. It was recommended to me by two customers, and now I’m recommending it to you!

— Daniel Goldin

Description


A disarming novel that asks a simple question: Can gentle people change the world?
 
In this charming and truly unique debut, popular Irish musician Ronan Hession tells the story of two single, thirty-something men who still live with their parents and who are . . . nice. They take care of their parents and play board games together. They like to read. They take satisfaction from their work. They are resolutely kind. And they realize that none of this is considered . . . normal.
 
Leonard and Hungry Paul is the story of two friends struggling to protect their understanding of what’s meaningful in life. It is about the uncelebrated people of this world — the gentle, the meek, the humble. And as they struggle to persevere, the book asks a surprisingly enthralling question: Is it really them against the world, or are they on to something?

About the Author


Ronan Hession is an Irish writer, musician, and social worker based in Dublin. As Mumblin' Deaf Ro, he has released three albums of songs, and his most recent album, Dictionary Crimes, was nominated for the Choice Music Prize for album of the year. Leonard and Hungry Paul is his first novel, and was shortlisted for an Irish Book of the Year award.

Praise For…


Praise for the UK edition of Leonard and Hungry Paul … 

British Book Awards 2020 Debut Book of the Year Finalist

Irish Book Awards 2019 Newcomer of the Year Finalist

 
“This quietly brilliant book is as funny as it is wise, as tender as it is ground-breaking.  Rónán Hession mines for gold in the modest lives and ordinary friendships that might appear unpromising to another writer, and my goodness, he finds it. It is also a happy book — and we need those.” — Diane Setterfield, author of The Thirteenth Tale

“A charming, warm-hearted celebration of all that is treasurable about everyday life.” — The Guardian

“Charming without being twee, this funny, warm book will bring you sunshine.” — The Irish Times

'God, what a voice Ronan has. It is spectacular and already feels like a cult classic. I was absolutely hooked.' — Donal Ryan, The Spinning Heart 

“For a book that defies convention I would heartily recommend Leonard and Hungry Paul. It’s as simple as it is unique … a celebration of kindness and having enough and being content — and living a life devoid of high drama and conflict. It’s very funny, and well-written, poetic in places. But above all it’s kind, a celebration of often overlooked people.” — Kit de Waal, author of My Name Is Leon

"This beautiful, heartfelt book is fed on wit and purpose . . . it challenges us to take happiness seriously. The result is that its readers may be nourished by it and in turn nourish others. Hession practices the gentleness he preaches, and gives readers a restorative glimpse of what a world based on embracing our best human quirks could look like. This is a novel to hearten us for whatever lies ahead." — The Believer


Product Details
ISBN: 9781612198484
ISBN-10: 1612198481
Publisher: Melville House
Publication Date: August 11th, 2020
Pages: 256