Under a Veiled Moon (An Inspector Corravan Mystery #2) (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Under a Veiled Moon (An Inspector Corravan Mystery #2) By Karen Odden Cover Image
List Price: $29.99
Our Price: $26.99
(Save: $3.00 10%)
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Karen Odden, In-Person at Boswell, Wednesday, October 26, 6:30 pm. Click here to register

— Boswell Book Company

Description


In the tradition of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, a fatal disaster on the Thames and a roiling political conflict set the stage for Karen Odden’s second Inspector Corravan historical mystery.

September 1878. One night, as the pleasure boat the Princess Alice makes her daily trip up the Thames, she collides with the Bywell Castle, a huge iron-hulled collier. The Princess Alice shears apart, throwing all 600 passengers into the river; only 130 survive. It is the worst maritime disaster London has ever seen, and early clues point to sabotage by the Irish Republican Brotherhood, who believe violence is the path to restoring Irish Home Rule. 
 
For Scotland Yard Inspector Michael Corravan, born in Ireland and adopted by the Irish Doyle family, the case presents a challenge. Accused by the Home Office of willfully disregarding the obvious conclusion, and berated by his Irish friends for bowing to prejudice, Corravan doggedly pursues the truth, knowing that if the Princess Alice disaster is pinned on the IRB, hopes for Home Rule could be dashed forever.

Corrovan’s dilemma is compounded by Colin, the youngest Doyle, who has joined James McCabe’s Irish gang. As violence in Whitechapel rises, Corravan strikes a deal with McCabe to get Colin out of harm’s way. But unbeknownst to Corravan, Colin bears longstanding resentments against his adopted brother and scorns his help.
 
As the newspapers link the IRB to further accidents, London threatens to devolve into terror and chaos. With the help of his young colleague, the loyal Mr. Stiles, and his friend Belinda Gale, Corravan uncovers the harrowing truth—one that will shake his faith in his countrymen, the law, and himself.

About the Author


Karen Odden earned her Ph.D. in English from New York University and subsequently taught literature at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She has contributed essays to numerous books and journals, written introductions for Victorian novels in the Barnes & Noble classics series, and edited for the journal Victorian Literature and Culture (Cambridge UP). Her previous novels, also set in 1870s London, have won awards for historical fiction and mystery. A member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters in Crime and the recipient of a grant from the Arizona Commission on the Arts, Karen lives in Arizona with her family and her rescue beagle Rosy.

Praise For…


Praise for Under a Veiled Moon:
“[An] exceptional sequel . . . Fans of Lyndsay Faye’s Gods of Gotham trilogy will be enthralled.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Victorian skulduggery with a heaping side of Irish troubles.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A treat for those of us who love skulking about Victorian London . . . Odden has a gift with well-researched history and then making us care about her characters. What more could a mystery reader ask?”
—Will Thomas, award-winning author of the Barker and Llewelyn Mystery Series

“The tragic crash of the Princess Alice makes for a thrilling set piece in the triumphant return of Inspector Michael Corravan. When the disaster is dubbed an act of terrorism, the Irish-born Corravan goes back to his old neighborhood of Whitechapel to investigate. He finds "the Chapel" much changed by gangs, prejudice, and violence which threatens to engulf the people he loves and the city of London itself. Rich in emotion and historical detail, Under a Veiled Moon is a brilliant tale of the dark, thorny places where the personal and the political intertwine.”
—Mariah Fredericks, Edgar award-nominated author of the Jane Prescott series

“A fascinating and mostly forgotten real-life maritime disaster, the sinking of the Princess Alice in the lower Thames, provides the centerpiece to the second novel in Odden’s spectacular Michael Corravan series, Under a Veiled Moon. Odden unpacks the historical implications of the disaster and then spins the story from there, sending Corravan, a former bare-knuckled boxer turned Scotland Yard inspector, on a heart-pounding investigation through the atmospheric streets of 19th century London, and finally taking him right to his own backyard. Under a Veiled Moon provides a perfect launching point for those new to the series.”
—Edwin Hill, Agatha-award nominated author of The Secrets We Share

Praise for Down a Dark River:

Down a Dark River pulls the reader into the place and time as Karen Odden weaves this complex and compelling mystery! A must read for mystery fans!”
—Charles Todd, New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Rutledge mysteries

"This twisty-turn-y mystery introducing a new and charismatic detective will delight readers also looking for well-researched history."
—Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series

“This captivating start to a new series offers up a thrilling mystery while also diving deep into questions of justice, mercy, and personal culpability. Odden’s latest is intricately plotted and filled with a cast of wonderful characters, including a worthy and relatable hero."
—Anna Lee Huber, USA Today bestselling author

“A spellbinding, brilliantly plotted Victorian murder mystery."
—Syrie James, bestselling author of The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte

“A must read for fans of any genre of crime fiction.” 
—Edwin Hill, author of The Secrets We Share
Product Details
ISBN: 9781639101191
ISBN-10: 1639101195
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: October 11th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: An Inspector Corravan Mystery