Sex with a Brain Injury: On Concussion and Recovery (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Sex with a Brain Injury: On Concussion and Recovery By Annie Liontas, Natalie Naudus (Read by) Cover Image
$39.99
Special Order - There is a small chance we can get this title
(This book cannot be returned.)

Staff Reviews


A transformative memoir told in essays about a topic isn't largely discussed. It is personal to the author as she has suffered from three concussions in her lifetime. These injuries have severely affected her life and wellbeing. Liontas weaves a beautiful web of a book, telling her story as well as blending it with history and interviews with others who have suffered from similar afflictions. I felt as though the book was very expansive in giving context to head injuries, and for that I'm grateful to the author. 

— Greta Borgealt

Description


For readers of Meghan O'Rourke's The Invisible Kingdom, Esme Weijun Wang's The Collected Schizophrenias, and Melissa Febos's Girlhood, a powerful and deeply personal memoir in essays that sheds light on the silent epidemic of head trauma.Annie Liontas suffered multiple concussions in her thirties. In Sex with a Brain Injury, she writes about what it means to be one of the "walking wounded," facing her fear, her rage, her physical suffering, and the effects of head trauma on her marriage and other relationships. Forced to reckon with her own queer mother's battle with addiction, Liontas finds echoes in their pain. Liontas weaves history, philosophy, and personal accounts to interrogate and expand representations of mental health, ability, and disability--particularly in relation to women and the LGBT community. She uncovers the surprising legacy of brain injury, examining its role in culture, the criminal justice system, and through historical figures like Henry VIII and Harriet Tubman. Encountering Liontas's sharp, affecting prose, the reader can imagine this kind of pain, and having to claw one's way back to a new normal. The hidden gift of injury, Liontas writes, is the ability to connect with others. For the millions of people who have suffered from concussions and for those who have endeavored to support loved ones through the painful and often baffling experience of head trauma, this astonishing and compassionate narrative offers insight and hope in equal measure.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781797174136
ISBN-10: 1797174134
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: January 16th, 2024
Language: English