The Banana Wars (Hardcover)

The Banana Wars By Alan Grostephan Cover Image
$27.95
Not in stock at Boswell. Available to order.

Description


Winner of the Dzanc Prize
for Fiction


Urab , Colombia, 1990: A violent strike at plantations
across the banana zone leads to crops in flames, managers murdered, and the local
economy teetering on the brink. In retaliation, the banana producers finance
right-wing paramilitaries to cleanse the zone of guerrillas and their supposed
collaborators.


Through the intertwined lives of four
characters--a banana worker making a play for power in the guerrillas, a
decadent Colombian banana planter who runs his business from the safety of
Medell n, a widow in Urab struggling to stay on the right side of the local
paramilitaries, and an American banana executive wading ever deeper into
troubled waters--The Banana Wars charts
the struggle to survive in impossible conditions, in a place where no one is to
be trusted and one false move can lead to death.


Starkly drawn from the true history of Urab and
this period of conflict, including the unseen role of US corporate interests,
celebrated author Alan Grostephan's latest is an incandescent historical novel
for fans of Jesmyn Ward, Roberto Bola o, and Fernanda Melchor.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781950539949
ISBN-10: 1950539946
Publisher: Dzanc Books
Publication Date: May 14th, 2024
Pages: 280
Language: English