CWA Dagger Awards

The Crime Writers’ Association Daggers awards, the "UK's top crime writing awards" were started in 1955, less than two years after the association was founded, with the award of a Crossed Red Herring Award to Winston Graham for The Little Walls.

Over the years the number of CWA Daggers has increased. Ten Daggers are now awarded annually by the CWA, with Red Herring awards made for those who have made a significant contribution to the CWA or crime writing. The Dagger longlists are traditionally announced at the international literary convention CrimeFest in Bristol in May, the shortlists at a London event in the summer and the winners at a glittering Dagger awards dinner usually held in the second half of October in London.


Good Girl, Bad Girl: A Novel (Cyrus Haven Series #1) By Michael Robotham Cover Image
ISBN: 9781982103613
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - May 5th, 2020

CWA Gold Dagger Award Winner 2020

The Gold Dagger is an award given annually by the Crime Writers' Association of the United Kingdom since 1960 for the best crime novel of the year.

The Godmother: A Crime Novel By Hannelore Cayre, Stephanie Smee (Translator) Cover Image
By Hannelore Cayre, Stephanie Smee (Translator)
ISBN: 9781770415430
Availability: Usually Ships within 2 weeks.
Published: ECW Press - September 3rd, 2019

CWA Crime Fiction in Translation Dagger Award Winner 2020

This award is for crime novels (defined by the broadest definition including thrillers, suspense novels and spy fiction) as long as the book was not originally written in English and has been translated into English for UK publication during the Judging Period. Up until 2019 this award was known as The CWA International Dagger.

November Road: A Thriller By Lou Berney Cover Image
ISBN: 9780062663856
Availability: Usually Ships within 2 weeks.
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 22nd, 2019

The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award Winner 2020

Ian Fleming said there was one essential criterion for a good thriller, ‘one simply has to turn the pages’. Eligible books in this category are thrillers set in any period and include, but are not limited to, spy fiction, psychological thrillers and action/adventure stories.

Staff Pick Badge
Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee By Casey Cep Cover Image
ISBN: 9781101972052
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - September 29th, 2020

ALCS Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction Award Winner 2020

his award is for any non-fiction work on a crime related theme by an author of any nationality as long as the book was first published in the UK in English during the Judging Period. This award encompasses, though is not limited to, non-fiction works relating to true crime, historical crime, crime-related biography, crime-fiction literature and critical studies.