Books for Children

Gift Guide Home Daniel Goldin's 2020 Favorites Big Gift Books Our Favorite Fiction Notable Nonfiction Music Cooking Beautiful Bird Books Gifts for Adults Gifts for Kids Top 5 Picks!

 

Beautiful books full of adventure and wonder, from picture books to graphic novels and titles for teens.

 

Staff Pick Badge
Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$15.16
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

Amie's #1 Pick!
An instant classic odd-couple tale about rock-scientist Badger and chicken-befriending Skunk, a pair who need to learn to be friends.


How We Got to the Moon: The People, Technology, and Daring Feats of Science Behind Humanity's Greatest Adventure Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9780525647416
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 6th, 2020

Meet thousands of unsung heroes and their history-changing innovations behind one of humanity’s most ambitious, dangerous, and thrilling adventures. Ages 10 +


50 Adventures in the 50 States Cover Image
By Kate Siber, Lydia HIll (Illustrator)
$24.00
ISBN: 9780711254459
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wide Eyed Editions - October 6th, 2020

Set your spirit free as you embark an exciting journey across the whole US of A with Siber, the award-winning author of National Parks of the USA. Ages 6 +


The Mysteries of the Universe: Discover the best-kept secrets of space Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781465499332
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DK Children - September 1st, 2020

Journey from Earth to the outer reaches of the universe and encounter bizarre planets, distant stars, and intricate galaxies with this stunning book about space! Ages 7 +


Weird, Wild, Amazing!: Exploring the Incredible World of Animals Cover Image
By Tim Flannery, Sam Caldwell (Illustrator)
$15.96
ISBN: 9781324015437
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Norton Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

Are zombie jellyfish real? How does an albatross sleep-fly? Meet the most spectacular creatures on Earth, from water to sky and the forests and deserts in between. Ages 9 +


Paper Peek: Animals Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781536211498
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Studio - September 15th, 2020

With intricate cut-paper artwork and enticing die cuts, this search-and-find book highlights animals across the globe.


Sun Flower Lion Cover Image
By Kevin Henkes, Kevin Henkes (Illustrator)
$15.19
ISBN: 9780062866103
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 22nd, 2020

Wisconsin’s own Caldecott Medalist transforms simple shapes and bright, shining colors into something magical. Signed copies available! Ages 2 - 6


What We'll Build: Plans For Our Together Future Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780593206751
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - October 6th, 2020

The companion book to Here We Are celebrates a parent’s boundless love, life’s endless opportunities, and all we need to build a future together. Ages 4 +


Snow Birds Cover Image
By Kirsten Hall, Jenni Desmond (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9781419742033
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - November 3rd, 2020

Discover the brave and resourceful birds who survive winter, snow, and frigid temperatures against all odds, in this poetic, gorgeously illustrated book. Ages 4 +


If You Come to Earth Cover Image
By Sophie Blackall (Illustrator)
$15.19
ISBN: 9781452137797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - September 15th, 2020

From two-time Caldecott Honoree Blackall comes a glorious guide to our home planet, and a call for us to take care of both Earth and each other. Ages 5 +


Every Night Is Pizza Night Cover Image
$14.36
ISBN: 9781324005254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Norton Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Pipo is on a quest to prove pizza is the best food in the world in this bright, whimsical story about open-mindedness, community, and family. Ages 3 +


Eric Cover Image
By Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781338622089
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - October 20th, 2020

A new stand-alone edition of one of Tan's most beloved stories, perfect for anyone who appreciates wonder, exploration, and life's everyday mysteries. Ages 5 +


Bunheads Cover Image
By Misty Copeland, Setor Fiadzigbey (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780399547645
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 29th, 2020

The first in a brand new series from prima ballerina Copeland inspired by her own experiences in ballet and her love of dancing. Ages 5 +


The Oboe Goes Boom Boom Boom Cover Image
By Colleen AF Venable, Lian Cho (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780062494375
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 22nd, 2020

Music lovers will laugh out loud at this book full of energy and band instruments - including one particularly loud interrupting drummer! Ages 4 +


The Time of Green Magic Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781534462762
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - July 28th, 2020

Overflowing with heart and magic, award-winner McKay’s tale of a girl adjusting to her new family in a mysterious house full of startling secrets.


Staff Pick Badge
Prairie Lotus Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9781328781505
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - March 3rd, 2020

Top 5 Pick: Tim
One of our favorite middle-grade novels of 2020, a modern take from an Asian American perspective on classic books like Little House on the Prairie, from a beloved Newbery Medalist. Ages 8 +


Wink Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9781984815149
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - March 31st, 2020

Ross does not want to be the cancer kid. Based on his own experience, Harrell’s novel is an unforgettable, hilarious story of surviving middle school and an unthinkable diagnosis while embracing weirdness. Ages 9 +


Ways to Make Sunshine (A Ryan Hart Novel #1) Cover Image
By Renée Watson, Nina Mata (Illustrator)
$13.59
ISBN: 9781547600564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - April 28th, 2020

You can’t help but be charmed by Newbery Honoree and Coretta Scott King Award-winner Watson’s Ramona-esque new series staring an irrepressible Black girl and her lovable family.


The Canyon's Edge Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780316494694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 8th, 2020

Hatchet meets Long Way Down in this heartfelt, gripping novel in verse about a young girl's struggle for survival after a climbing trip with her father goes terribly wrong. Ages 8 +


Stepping Stones (Peapod Farm #1) Cover Image
$11.69
ISBN: 9781984896841
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - May 5th, 2020

Jen did not want to leave the city, move to a farm, or get two new ‘sisters.’ A funny, sweet, and real graphic novel about an unlikely journey of friends, sisterhood, and home. Ages 8 +


Staff Pick Badge
Lightfall: The Girl & the Galdurian Cover Image
By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator)
$11.69
ISBN: 9780062990464
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperAlley - September 1st, 2020

For fans of Amulet and Star Wars, a graphic novel of two unlikely friends who get swept up in a quest way above their pay grade to save their world from falling into eternal darkness. Ages 8 +


Class Act Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$11.69
ISBN: 9780062885500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 6th, 2020

Drew is too used to working “twice as hard to be just as good.” When he realizes even his friends are privileged in ways he may never be, can he overcome the isolating divide, be accepted, and accept himself? Ages 8 + 


Elatsoe Cover Image
By Darcie Little Badger, Rovina Cai (Illustrator)
$15.19
ISBN: 9781646140053
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - August 25th, 2020

Top 5 Pick: Amie
A groundbreaking novel of Indigenous myths, modern technology, and the supernatural. A murder mystery in an America shaped by magic, monsters, and legends. Age 12 +


We Are Not Free Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358131434
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Fourteen teenagers in San Francisco, all of them second-generation Japanese Americans, have their lives irrevocably changed by the mass U.S. incarcerations of World War II. Age 12 +


Staff Pick Badge
Legendborn Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781534441606
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 15th, 2020

Filled with mystery and magic and set in a residential gifted school, this is a modern-day twist on a classic legend with a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic. Age 14 +


Staff Pick Badge
Dress Coded Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781984816436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2020

Top 5 Pick: Rachel
A girl-power friendship story about an eighth grader who starts a protest of the unfair dress code enforcement at her school and sparks a rebellion. Age 10 +


Staff Pick Badge
Today Tonight Tomorrow Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781534440241
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - July 28th, 2020

Top 5 Pick: Jenny
Rich with complex emotions and laugh-out-loud banter, this story of two rival overachievers will win your heart from the first page. Age 12 +


Staff Pick Badge
The Montague Twins: The Witch's Hand Cover Image
By Nathan Page, Drew Shannon (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780525646778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - July 14th, 2020

Top 5 Pick: Parker
Like a supernatural take on the Hardy Boys, complete with totally righteous vintage vibes. Age 12 +