Women's Prize for Fiction

The prize was established to recognise the literary achievement of female writers. The inspiration for the Baileys Prize was the Booker Prize of 1991, when none of the six shortlisted books was by a woman, despite some 60% of novels published that year being by female authors. A group of women and men working in the industry – authors, publishers, agents, booksellers, librarians, journalists – therefore met to discuss the issue. Research showed that women’s literary achievements were often not acknowledged by the major literary prizes.

Staff Pick Badge
Hamnet By Maggie O'Farrell Cover Image
ISBN: 9781984898876
Availability: Usually Ships within 2 weeks.
Published: Vintage - May 18th, 2021

Women's Prize for Fiction 2020